The official website of Punjab Education Foundation
New School Program


New School Program was launched as a pilot project in 2008 to engage private sector entrepreneurs in order to set up new schools in remote, distant and under-served areas of the province. NSP targets to establish schools where government or private schools are scarce in number or unavailable. Currently, NSP has 2051 schools in 36 districts of the province.

In NSP, new schools are opened at sites where no formal government or PEF school exists within 1km radius and have population of at least 350 people. Further, schools are encouraged for up-gradation in order to improve transition from one level to another. Grace period of six months is provided to the partner to meet minimum requirement of 50 enrolment, 2 classrooms, 2 teachers, drinking water provision and 1 toilet. In 2015, NSP has signed agreements in Phase VI with 6 NGOs to open schools in their allocated districts on sites identified by School Education Department and verified by PEF.

Salient Features

NSP not only ensures enrolment of out of school children but also retention through:

  • Providing guidelines to partners to meet minimum required standards in stipulated time
  • Assessment of students learning outcomes by administering Quality Assurance Test (QAT) once a year
  • Monitoring and evaluation in a continuum both ways; internal and external
  • Capacity building of school management and faculty especially targeting weak areas
  • Orientation sessions to establish a new school and keep it functional in effective way
  • Development of Students Information System SIS to track each child enrolled in NSP


  1. Site identification by Individual Entrepreneurs
  2. Site identification by School Education Department
  3. Site identification by Civil Society Organizations (CSOs)
  4. Site identification by EVS for EVS NSP joint venture
  5. Model villages
  6. Cholistan community schools and Cholistan Moblie Schools

As interventions, NSP signed tripartite agreement with 7 NGOs in 2012 to make 14 Model Village Schools (MVS) functional in 7 districts, signed MoU with 2 CSOs to open 867 schools in their allocated districts on sites identified by themselves and verified by PEF,and with Cholistan Development Authority to affiliate 76 Cholistan community schools (CCS) and 10 Cholistan Mobile Schools (CMS) with PEF.

© Copyright Punjab Education Foundation 1991-2017, All rights reserved.